Local Hardcore Show

The Boys Front Man

On this last Wednesday February 16th, I attended a show at the Mad Hatter club in Covington, Kentucky to watch one of my favorite types of shows to see:  Hardcore metal shows.  The show began at 7:30 p.m. but I didn’t make it to the concert until about 8:15, since I was going to support one of my friend’s bands, The Boys.  I love going to these shows because they are always energetic, fun, and above all, the bands playing in these shows are always really talented.  I feel one of the best genres of music where artists really show their skill is metal.  Guitarists always have face-melting guitar riffs and incredible hard-driving drumbeats and fills.  I find metal music to be very technical and this was a great show to attend.

The Boys

The Boys is my friend’s band who I went to see on Wednesday.  This was The Boys first show ever and they only had three songs to play for the set.  The show began with a nice little build-up intro and quickly broke into an explosion of energy.  The guitars were wailing as the two front men, yes TWO front men commanded the crowd.  The two would bounce vocals off of each other as if to be finishing each other’s lines.  They would even have parts in their songs where they would harmonize with each other, creating a very powerful vocal when put together.  The band played with amazing stage presence and knew exactly what they wanted out of their audience.  The crowd was really moving during the set.  I was trying hard

The Boys Front Man

to get a good photo of the vocalists together on stage and right as I was about to snap the photo, I was pushed back and into the pit where I was tossed around for a while until I could finally escape.  I usually am the one in the pit enjoying the movement and energy of the hardcore set lists but this time I was trying to stay away from the roughness.  The Boys formed a great relationship with the audience and overall put on a great show, I will definitely go see them again.

Remainder of the Show

After The Boys finished their set, I decided to stick around for the rest of the show seeing as I had already paid 8 dollars just to see my friend perform 3 songs.  The next band was sort of a Slipknot cover band and I don’t particularly like Slipknot.  The singer was flat when he chose to sing and the band was not very talented.  I heard several flaws during the band’s set.  But what really turned me off of this band the most was the stage presence by the band, especially the front man.  When people weren’t gathering in front of the stage when the band was beginning to play, the front man began to yell at the audience.  He would taunt them in an attempt to get the crowd closer to the stage.  This is no way to win your audience over.  It was embarrassing watching this band move on stage.  For their final song they of course played a cover by Slipknot, and they made the song even worse which I didn’t think was possible.

Hardcore Front Man

The next band was definitely no stranger to the stage.  When the band was ready to start their show they asked that everyone gather around closely and sure enough, everyone did.  The front man treated his audience with respect and kindness all while showing them a hardcore show.  This band was really heavy.  I love heavy music and this band was just for me.  The front man could hit many high-pitched screams as well as the low notes that make your stomach tremble.  The front man was incredibly energetic, as was the rest of the band.  I especially liked the drummer, he was very talented and I enjoyed the part he played in the heavy band’s music.  This band played a great show.  I wish I could tell you the name because I wish I knew as well but when I searched on the site of the venue, I could not find it.  Overall, the show was powerful and fun.  I felt inspired as I usually do after seeing a show and the fact that they were all local bands made the experience even better.  I suggest if you want to go see some great local bands, the Mad Hatter is the place to go.

 

The Mad Hatter

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a comment